Productive Weekend

What a busy weekend.  It’s Monday and I’m super tired.  I’m feeling quite good because I did a lot this weekend.  Let’s see, I finally made some homemade baby food for BB with the Beaba.  I made some pureed sweet potato and some pureed apple and pear for BB. He’s loving solids right now.  He gets 3 meals a day, usually some rice cereal and some pureed fruit/veggies and he snarfs it all up.  I’ve been feeding him baby food pouches from Plum Organics or Ella’s Kitchen but those can get really pricey after a while.  I prefer those for travel (or when I’m feeling lazy).  I also found these at Costco:

GoGo Squeez Applesauce on the Go

I was a little worried that these wouldn’t be as pureed as finely as baby pureed foods go but it’s just right and little BB snarfs that up too.

I would like to mention that Happy Baby has great customer service.  I usually purchase their rice cereal (brown rice or oatmeal cereal) to feed my kids but sometimes I notice there’s a slightly rancid smell to these products when I first open them.  I encountered this product a few years ago when I was feeding CB and had bought a whole case via Amazon and noticed that the new ones had that icky smell.  I complained to Amazon and they refunded me right away.  This time I contacted Happy Baby directly and the representative explained that sometimes this happens and it is still safe to eat (she likened it to an overly ripened banana, which kinda makes sense – still good to eat, just a bit icky).  She also asked for my home address and mailed me some free coupons which I will gladly use!

I also dabbled in the kitchen and attempted to make Steamy Kitchen’s pork belly buns.  We’re going to have it for dinner tonight so all I need to do is steam the buns and put everything together.  I slow cooked the pork belly on Saturday and yesterday night, I braised them in the caramel sauce. It looks and smells so awesome!

Mmmmm….get in ma’ belly, pork belly!!

Browning pork belly in oil in a hot wok is a scary experience.  Next time I’m using no oil because the pork belly has quite enough fat so it won’t stick to the pan.  Thank goodness for oil splatter protectors because I was yelping a lot while trying to brown these suckers.  

Here’s another reason why I had such a busy weekend:

Who’s that I see?

BB started rolling around like crazy this weekend.  Yay, I’m glad that he finally reached this milestone but I’m also a little sad (selfishly) that he’s so mobile now.  That means I’ll be fighting a lot during diaper changes, feedings and everything really.  Soon he’ll be crawling.  Actually he can scoot backwards on all fours and I’m sure he’ll figure out in no time how to crawl (forward).  This whole weekend, he was practicing his rolling but then he would scream bloody murder because he’ll be stuck on his belly and did not know what to do next.  So I had to flip him around and teach him to roll back.  Sometimes I just left him on his tummy because he needs to learn how to roll back!  I won’t be there all the time to flip him over.  This morning, I found him sleeping on his belly!  I kinda freak out that he won’t be able to breathe but I guess if he’s able to flip around and stuff, he will be ok to turn his head to get some air….

I have a very important question – do your kids (if you have kids) wake up SUPER EARLY on the weekends and on regular days, like school days, have to wake up the kids because they refuse to wake up. CB has daycare but he wakes up at 7am, like the rest of us, to get ready for our days.  He always wakes up at 6am (or earlier) on the weekends and runs into our room saying GOOD MORNING!  HELLOOOO!!! and all happy and stuff while Papa and Mama Bear want to sleep just a bit longer especially since we stay up watching movies. (I know, we should really go to sleep earlier but it’s really hard to do that because we are SO behind on movies, etc.)

BB wakes up super early on weekends mainly because CB is so freaking loud.  But BB loves his big brother and CB can do no wrong in BB’s eyes.  The love and adoration BB has for CB makes me go Awwwwww.  CB loves BB just as much because he’s always saying “Hi” to him and always wants to give him kisses. So cute!!!

One more week to vacation.  I can’t wait! 🙂

About babydot74

Just a 30-something year old mother of two little boys, who bitches, gripes, ponders & wonders about everything. View all posts by babydot74

Leave a Reply

Sunshine Box

Exploring life through deep thought and introspective connection to reality... most of the time.

Jetpack for WordPress

Professional WordPress Sites

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Shot of Green

Journey to Healthy Living

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

My French Heaven

Cuisine, Design & Joie de vivre

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Hand-Picked Words

A monthly grab bag for book lovers!

The Microscopic World of ME!

My world in randomness ...

tuttacronaca

un occhio a quello che accade

a beautiful day

simple. recipes. healthy. lifestyle

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Maia + Ivor

Life in Pictures

Window Seat Stories

A little box for book lovers -- with a big dream!

