Passing Judgement

People always say “don’t judge” or “don’t compare” when it comes to everything, especially with your offspring.  I know EVERYONE is guilty of judging and/or comparing.  Everyone does it.  Don’t even lie and say you don’ t do it, but you do.  I am guilty of it. I do judge but in the privacy of my home or somewhere privately.  I don’t judge in public and never ever do I say it directly to the person.

This weekend I came across a situation where a stranger called CB a “troublemaker”.  I DO agree that CB is difficult but what 3 year old boy toddler do you know isn’t?  He isn’t really talking fully yet and that means he’s not communicating very well.  He’s got feelings and because he can’t describe what he’s feeling, he’s going to have tantrums.  That’s normal.  I don’t let it slide without telling him that it’s wrong to scream/yell/slap nor do I ignore it but I try my best to keep him contained and I can’t watch over him like a hawk, every minute and every second of the day.  It’s a work in progress and I know it’s going to be like this for a very long time.  People tell me it’s just a phase and I know it, I just hope it’s a fast phase!

Everyone who had kids before I did always told me that the Terrible 3’s are way worse than the Terrible 2’s.  Now I know why.  I hate having to deal with the obnoxious stares out in public if my child is screaming (for example, like yesterday at Costco) or obnoxious stares from adults, especially elderly people.  People just don’t remember what it’s like to be as a child.  I wish people could be more understanding and more tolerable but I know that’s out of the question. But you would figure people who have kids would be more understanding but sadly, thus is not the case.

Society sucks ass.

What would you do if you ever came across a situation where a stranger insults your kid in front of you?

About babydot74

Just a 30-something year old mother of two little boys, who bitches, gripes, ponders & wonders about everything. View all posts by babydot74

2 responses to “Passing Judgement

  • dirtyrottenparenting

    That’s a tough one! I may respond in amazement, “I’m sorry, what did you just say?” or loftily “You must not have children,” or even passive-aggressively “don’t pay any attention to that mean lady. It’s not nice to insult people.”

  • FSC

    I’d probably give them the stink eye. And say something along the lines of “Oh, you must have been one of those PERFECT kids”.

Leave a Reply

Sunshine Box

Exploring life through deep thought and introspective connection to reality... most of the time.

Jetpack for WordPress

Professional WordPress Sites

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Shot of Green

Journey to Healthy Living

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

My French Heaven

Cuisine, Design & Joie de vivre

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Hand-Picked Words

A monthly grab bag for book lovers!

The Microscopic World of ME!

My world in randomness ...

tuttacronaca

un occhio a quello che accade

a beautiful day

simple. recipes. healthy. lifestyle

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Maia + Ivor

Life in Pictures

Window Seat Stories

A little box for book lovers -- with a big dream!

