Cravebox Review: Limited Edition Book Lovers Cravebox

For those that are not familiar, Cravebox is a subscription box service where you pay around $11 for a box full of goodies that are based on some kind of theme.  Cravebox’s monthly subscription list is all filled up but I am currently placed on a waiting list for it.  Once in a while, they will have a Limited Edition box where even non-members, such as myself, can enter a drawing to be picked for a Limited Edition subscription box.  All you need to do is to make an account with Cravebox, put a valid credit card on your account and once you enter the drawing and get picked for one, they will send you an email saying you won the drawing and that your credit card will be charged and tracking numbers are sent out. It’s all very efficient and fast, I must say.  I have no complaints on how they process things.

So I jumped on the opportunity to enter the drawing for a Limited Edition box again from Cravebox.  3 for 3, not bad at all!  Earlier this year, I had won the drawing for the Summer BBQ and the Summer Beauty Limited Edition boxes.  I wasn’t wowed by the prior 2 boxes but it’s always fun to open a box.  Frankly, I was a little reluctant to jump on another opportunity but a Book Lovers Box!  Come on!  They are SO talking to me!  I’ve been meaning to start reading another book.  I read the 50 Shades of Crap (sorry but I just didn’t like it.  I tried to read the whole trilogy to redeem itself to my brain but my brain just couldn’t handle it.  I admit books 2 and 3 were much better than the first but it was just really bad reading.  I’m not dissing on it because of the content and I am not a prude so it wasn’t all the “erotica” stuff turning me off either.  Bad writing!  Boring story!  I’m somewhere in the middle of the last book and I just have no urge to complete the whole series…) and wanted to cleanse my brain cells with a good read.  I have a ton of books lined up on my Kindle/iBooks app but I just hadn’t gotten around to reading them (Game of Thrones! – I hear they are very time consuming).

So yeah, a Book Lovers box.  I am definitely a book lover (something I passed on to CB and totally proud and happy when he will drop a toy for a book!), was definitely looking for a new good read and goodies as I’m reading?  Sure!  *enters drawing* and then win win win!  Wheee!

It finally came in yesterday:

I was secretly hoping it would be the new JK Rowling “adult” book but I looked up the publisher for that and it was totally wrong so I knew it wasn’t it.  Ah well.

“How I Came to Sparkle Again” by Kaya McLaren ~ $14.00
I thought it would be in a hardcover since it’s a fairly new book. I was a little surprised to see it was in softcover but hey, better for me since I’ll be lugging it around to read it.  That’s weird for me since I started reading my books the updated way – via my iPad or iPhone.

I’ve never heard of the author before but the book sounds like it’ll be an interesting read!

It got some positive reviews on Amazon, too!   It’s in my work bag and I will start very soon.

Other goodies in the box:

Natural Vines Red Licorice ~ $3.00 – Yum!  I’ve been meaning to try this stuff out and now I can.  I haven’t busted this open yet but I will, very very soon.

Soy Nut Trail Mix from Crum Creek ~ $0.55 – I’ve never heard or seen this before but it says on the card that it is “Featuredin Oprah’s O magazine as part of Dr. Oz’s ’28-Day Plan to Renew Your Body, Mind and Soul'”.  Sounds pretty good to me and the fact that Oprah as mentioned it at all means it should be pretty good for you.  It’s an organic blend of soy nuts, raisins, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds and chocolate chips.  It sounds healthy and yummy at the same time.

Gratitudes Bracelet from Alexa’s Angels – $10.00 – These are very cute bracelets.  I’m not a big jewelry wearer (all I wear are my wedding band and e-ring since it’s a set, and a watch. My necklaces have long been broken by my kids 😦 and won’t be wearing one for a while).  It makes a nice gift, though! 🙂

I get about $27.55 when I add the costs up from above.  That’s not too shabby for a $11 box!  I did like this box much better than the Summer BBQ box and I’m quite excited to start sampling from it.  Thanks to Cravebox for giving me the opportunity to win this box! 🙂

If you’re interested in any of the other upcoming Limited Edition boxes.  Here’s what’s coming:

Good luck to everyone who decides to enter the drawing!

[Note:  This is my opinion and was not paid/compensated in any way for my honest review]

About babydot74

Just a 30-something year old mother of two little boys, who bitches, gripes, ponders & wonders about everything. View all posts by babydot74

Leave a Reply

Sunshine Box

Exploring life through deep thought and introspective connection to reality... most of the time.

Jetpack for WordPress

Professional WordPress Sites

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Shot of Green

Journey to Healthy Living

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

My French Heaven

Cuisine, Design & Joie de vivre

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Hand-Picked Words

A monthly grab bag for book lovers!

The Microscopic World of ME!

My world in randomness ...

tuttacronaca

un occhio a quello che accade

a beautiful day

simple. recipes. healthy. lifestyle

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Maia + Ivor

Life in Pictures

Window Seat Stories

A little box for book lovers -- with a big dream!

