Product Review – SheSpeaks

This post is long overdue. My apologies!

I joined SheSpeaks over the summer because I was looking into more websites that were similar to BzzAgent.  I like the idea of trying out new products and spreading the word.  I was doing that for a while but I was buying the products myself.   If you join these sites, you may get picked to test some new products, depending on where you stand – usually like age, area, etc etc.

SheSpeaks is a community for women where you can read blogs, share reviews, read opinions and be chosen for free product testing.  It’s quite nifty.

I mentioned Shespeaks a few posts ago about these websites who promote word of mouth marketing.  Clickety.

Since joining this past summer, I’ve been offered 2 products for testing.  The first was Clear Shampoo and Conditioner but it took a while to arrive due to shipping complications.  I received the products about 2 months later after I accepted the invite to test these products after I contacted them through their main website that I still haven’t received the products.  Their customer service was very prompt and polite and shipped it out to me in a few days.

I was excited to use Clear Shampoo and Conditioner!  I’ve been seeing these commercials over and over since I was catching up on shows on Hulu Plus – which isn’t commercial free.  You’re forced to watch 1-2 commercials when they have commercial breaks.  It’s not pure torture but it sucks that I can’t fast forward through them.  But after viewing these commercials, I wanted to try these products!  (Their partnership with Hulu Plus worked – I NEEDED to try these products LOL)  So imagine my excitement when SheSpeaks offered me to product test these items. 🙂

When I finally received my box, I ripped the box open and went to wash my hair.  Please note no pictures were taken of my box because I literally ran off with the products to go wash my hair.  Seriously.

What my hair has been looking like for the past 6 months and still does. 😦

By the way, it’s almost 9 months AFTER I gave birth to BB and I’m still dealing with post-pregnancy hair.  I went through the hair loss about 3 months post-labor and now my hair is long as fark. (Not anyone’s fault but mine) But I’m STILL dealing with the baby hairs that stick STRAIGHT UP and I look so silly!  Nothing works for those stubborn baby hairs.  Hair wax, hair spray, gel, mousse.  Nope.  They are SO defiant.  I first realized my hair was sticking up when BB kept on staring above my eyes and I was always wondering what he was staring at.  He was/is staring at my baby hairs and how silly his mommy looks. 😦  I look so stupid and old with my salt and pepper hair.  That’s what having kids does to you – turn your hair white and grey.  I’m in serious need for a dye job and a hair cut. What’s taking so long?  I get my hair cut in Boston by a specific salon and a specific person.  LOL

Ahh, I digress.  Just had to get that out there.  Anyone dealing with post-labor ostrich hair?

So I tried the shampoo and conditioner and I love the smell.  It smells great!  I found the shampoo lathered well but I have SO MUCH hair that I need to use a large amount to get the lather that I need.  I usually use Dove Moisturizing Shampoo and a smaller amount of that lathers just right for my hair.  I have to use this insane amount of Clear Shampoo to acquire the lather I’m used to and to cover all of my hair.  It also rinses well and doesn’t feel like it leaves any build up in my hair.  I also love how it makes my hair smell so good the very next day, all day long.  I just sniffed my hair and it still smells good!

The conditioner is also great, too. It smells great and it really moisturizes my hair and leaves it really soft and shiny.  I find that I use the conditioner more often than the shampoo. It really bothers me that I need to use  A LOT to acquire the lather that I need to ensure all of my hair and scalp would be clean.  I wish they would make it more lather-able. Is that even a word?

I’m the type of person who needs to alternate products they use all the time.  I can’t use just one thing because I either get sick of it or my hair/skin/body doesn’t like it.  I crave for variety.  So I alternate using the Clear shampoo and using the Dove shampoo and I’m happy as a clam.  I doubt I’d be happy using it every day.  Nor my hair. But that’s just me!

What REALLY bothers me is the design of the bottles.  Yeah, it looks very modern and sleek but it’s not well balanced. They topple over every day in my bathroom.  You will always hear two loud bangs and me cursing because it landed on top of my head or my toes.  Me not happy. 😡   Overall, I really like the two products and I would probably buy the conditioner more than the shampoo in the future.

The second product I tested from SheSpeaks is the Enfagrow Older Toddler Ready to Drink Milk.  They marketed this to picky toddler eaters because the milk has the nutrition the toddlers need if they aren’t eating all too healthy.  They come in two flavors – Regular and in Vanilla; and they also come in powder form, if that’s preferred.

CB is a picky picky eater.  If he likes the food, he’ll gobble it up.  If he doesn’t, he’ll hold it in his mouth and let his saliva disintegrate his food into nothing and THEN he’ll swallow it.  Gross, isn’t it?  He won’t spit it out if he doesn’t like it and if we pry it out, he screams bloody murder when we do.  It’s a lose-lose situation and it’s always a puzzle trying to figure out what he will eat.  Even if he liked one type of food one day because he gobbled it down, there are times when I serve it again and then he’ll just hold the food in his mouth.  Gross.

CB is totally skinny. He’s got skinny legs and arms and is so skinny.  BB is way chubbier than him.  BB is ready to eat the food we eat. He always looks so sad when he sees our food and then looks at his food (oatmeal cereal mixed with fruit and veggie puree).  He snarfs it down anyway.  I can totally picture in the near future CB refusing to eat his food and BB totally grabbing it and stuffing it in his mouth.  TOTALLY.

I actually remembered to take pictures of the contents in my box this time.  Actually I got this shipment BEFORE I got the Clear products.  Ha ha.

 

 

 

Enfagrow Older Toddler drinks contain:

  • DHA and iron—two building blocks of a toddler’s brain
  • 19 nutrients to help support growth
  • Natural Defense® Dual Prebiotics® Blend—designed to help support your toddler’s immune system

Their packaging resembles the Horizon Organic Milk cartons that come in Vanilla or Chocolate. CB drinks those a lot and loves it.  I used to drink those when I was pregnant.  They are quite yummy!  I served these at CB’s birthday party one time with other kiddie drinks and juice boxes and all these kids were crying for their own vanilla milk!  Like crying and whining!  The power of Horizon Vanilla milk.  Hee hee.  Good thing I had plenty to go around.

So one weekend, I gave CB an Enfagrow milk.  He seemed happy to try it because it’s almost identical to the Horizon milk. He took one sip…and never touched it again after that.  I figured it was just that one time so I served it again but he knows what it looks like and it’s NOT his favorite vanilla milk and it goes untouched.  I served it another time and he tried to force it down Meanie’s throat.  3 times.  I know Meanie or my mom has tried giving it to him.  Always untouched.  It’s obvious he doesn’t like it.  I tried it for myself to see what it tastes like.  There’s a faint vanilla taste but it’s not as flavorful as the Horizon milks.  And it doesn’t taste like organic milk.  You know, yummier than regular non-organic milk.  But I don’t taste anything bad or vitamin-y or anything like that. For some reason, my child avoids this like the plague.

I have a bunch of coupons for this.  Anyone interested?  Please don’t base your decision on my child.  He is SUPER picky and I’m not surprised he doesn’t like it.  I read other reviews on this product and other peoples’ kids love the milk.  It’s good for you and tastes great.  But if your kid has had a taste of the Horizon organic milks, there’s a huge chance your kid won’t like these either.  Just sayin’.

[Disclaimer:  Please note that I received both products complimentary for testing purposes from SheSpeaks.  This is my honest opinion.]

 

About babydot74

Just a 30-something year old mother of two little boys, who bitches, gripes, ponders & wonders about everything. View all posts by babydot74

Leave a Reply

Sunshine Box

Exploring life through deep thought and introspective connection to reality... most of the time.

Jetpack for WordPress

Professional WordPress Sites

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Shot of Green

Journey to Healthy Living

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

My French Heaven

Cuisine, Design & Joie de vivre

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Hand-Picked Words

A monthly grab bag for book lovers!

The Microscopic World of ME!

My world in randomness ...

tuttacronaca

un occhio a quello che accade

a beautiful day

simple. recipes. healthy. lifestyle

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Maia + Ivor

Life in Pictures

Window Seat Stories

A little box for book lovers -- with a big dream!

