Damn You, Sandy!

Sorry I’ve been MIA.  Hurricane Sandy hit my area last Monday around 4pm and I lost my power at 11am on Monday, before the storm even hit.  Ack!  I’m am now on my 9th day without power but luckily, my parents live nearby and they never lost their power.  My situation does suck big time but I am far luckier than other people who have lost everything.  My parents never fail to never let me forget how grateful and lucky I am because they are nearby and have heat and everything. I AM grateful and I AM thankful.  If it weren’t for them, we’d be stuck in a shelter somewhere, or hotel or just freezing in the cold.  *sigh*  Meanie, my boys and I miss our home but it is way too cold to go home.  Now the munchkins and I are sick so it’s best that we stay in the warm house.  My mom is saving me a lot in the middle of the night because BB hasn’t been sleeping well so my mom has come to help me.  Thank God!! 🙂

JCP&L (our electric company) says that we’ll get our power back BY Wednesday but that’s what they’ve been saying since last week.  I’ve heard from CB’s daycare owner that the reason why we don’t have power in our area is because the substation has been severely affected by Sandy and the soonest we will get our power is NEXT WEEK.  WTF. FML.

At this rate, we’re going to have to cancel our weekend festivities – Football Sunday/My birthday/Mrs. Prindables House Party.  How ironic I finally get chosen to host a House Party party and I am not able to host a party because of lack of power.  Ugh.  I hope this doesn’t hurt my chances of other parties.  This sucks total monkey balls.

I am back at work today – that’s how I am blogging.  Ha ha.  I am behind on my blogs and reviews.  I finally finished the book I received from the Cravebox Book Lover’s box and will need to review that.  Oh! Cravebox changed the way how they work now.  There are no longer monthly subscription boxes, just boxes in general that you have to enter a drawing to win.  I won the drawing for the Cooking Light Cravebox that should be arriving this week. Looking forward to that!


The Mrs. Prindables House Party package should be arriving tomorrow and I just need to figure out where I’m going to keep it cold.  I guess I could just keep it in my garage because it’s so freaking cold in my house now due to lack of heat.  😦

So stay tuned and wish us luck in getting our power back.  😦

About babydot74

Just a 30-something year old mother of two little boys, who bitches, gripes, ponders & wonders about everything. View all posts by babydot74

4 responses to “Damn You, Sandy!

  • sarahakahungry

    I hope you get your power back soon!

  • cuteandcurls

    Im just so thankful to know you and family are all safe and sound. I was so worried when I heard about it. I hope Mrs Prindables House Party will give another chance to host when they know what had happen, surely they will!

    • babydot74

      Thanks T, for your concern. 🙂 We are still holding the party – Football Sunday/Mrs. Prindables and my birthday just happens to be on the same day. The weather is supposed to get up to the 60’s again after the crazy weather we’ve been having so it’ll be nice out and we can have some fun, finally!

Leave a Reply

Sunshine Box

Exploring life through deep thought and introspective connection to reality... most of the time.

Jetpack for WordPress

Professional WordPress Sites

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Shot of Green

Journey to Healthy Living

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

My French Heaven

Cuisine, Design & Joie de vivre

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Hand-Picked Words

A monthly grab bag for book lovers!

The Microscopic World of ME!

My world in randomness ...

tuttacronaca

un occhio a quello che accade

a beautiful day

simple. recipes. healthy. lifestyle

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Maia + Ivor

Life in Pictures

Window Seat Stories

A little box for book lovers -- with a big dream!

