Getting Back to Normal

We finally got our power back on Monday TUESDAY evening. [I’m so out of it that I don’t even remember when I got our power back.]  Thank the Lord!  After 9 1/2 long days without power, we finally have it back.  We just got our first snow yesterday and I was frightened we would lose our power again.  We moved all of our crap from my parents’ house to our house Monday night and we were so happy to be home again – in our own beds – and just back at home again. CB was so happy to see his toys again and his playroom!  I was a little sad because we left BB with my parents.  I got a bad cold last Tuesday when we were shivering without power and I spread the cold to my bear cubs and BB had it bad.  My mother begged me to stay for another night but we were so eager to come home finally so my parents are taking care of BB as he recuperates.  He’s doing great and he’s being uber spoiled by his grandparents that now he wants to be held all the time!  Gah!  That’s OK. Poor BB was sick so he’s entitled to some spoilage. 🙂

In the meantime, I get to sleep through the night to recuperate myself.  I’m always a little sad when I pass BB’s room but I know it’s for the better and temporary.  We would both be miserable if we were together and I’d be a Grumpster because I need to trek into work early in the morning.

Meanwhile, CB is totally happy that he’s got both Mama Bear and Papa Bear all to himself.  He surprised me, though. When we got home on Monday from my parents, CB was asking where his little brother was.  It just made me even sadder. 😦 I miss my BB dearly!  I think this is the first time ever I left one of my babies somewhere else. I know he’s in great hands but we miss him! Even CB.  I think I’ll get him back either tomorrow or tonight (if they are tired of him) but something tells that we’ll get him back tomorrow. Hee hee.

Halloween Update [taken from here]

I know that celebrating Halloween may not be a priority to many of you right now given the fact that so many are still experiencing power outages.  But it is in times like these that we cannot forget our children.  They have been hurting also and this is one holiday that they look forward to. 

I want to give them a little happiness and an opportunity to have fun so I am asking everyone to celebrate Halloween on Saturday, November 10.  This is the date I have selected because I am hoping that power will return to everyone by then.  Please note that this date is contingent upon the nor’easter coming our way and the conditions after the storm.  

I will continue to update you if anything changes.  Let us try to put this awful experience behind us and give our children something positive to remember.  Thank you.
                                                              Mayor James R.Barberio

Life is starting to become normal again after the arrival of Sandy.  Power is finally back, commuter buses are running again so I can get into work, schools have finally resumed after being closed for 1.5 weeks.  Halloween for my town has been postponed till this Saturday.  I only found out via the Parsippany Police Department Facebook page.  How do the majority of people find out about these things if they don’t have Facebook or go online to check it out on the town’s homepage?  I don’t want to ring a door only to get stared down at because people don’t know about the “new” Halloween date.  That would be awkward.  At least I’m relieved I won’t be stuck with a Costco sized bag of Halloween candy for the rest of the year.  I was joking that instead of giving out holiday cookies this year, I will be giving out holiday candy.  Hah.

I received my Mrs. Prindables’ Party Package from House Party yesterday.  Meanie had already taken it out of the box and put them in the fridge by the time I came home so I didn’t get to take a picture of the box opening. 😦 I will take a picture of the goodies once I’ve arranged them on Sunday, for the party. Yes, we are still holding it!  I need people to come over and help me eat the goodies!  The Party Package contains the following:

  • 1 Triple Chocolate Gourmet Jumbo Apple with ornament & signature gift box
  • 1 Milk Chocolate Walnut Pecan Gourmet Apple with holiday bow*
  • 1 Box of Chicago-style Milk Chocolate Toffee in holiday gift box
  • 1 Bag of Holiday themed Pretzel Bites*
  • 1 Box of Assorted Truffles (24 pc.)*
  • 13 Mrs. Prindable’s flexible cutting boards for guests
  • 13 Mrs. Prindable’s catalogs and special offer for guests

WOW!  I was totally impressed with what I found waiting for me in the fridge.  These would totally make great gifts for all holidays or just for the hell of it.  Can’t wait to try it all!

About babydot74

Just a 30-something year old mother of two little boys, who bitches, gripes, ponders & wonders about everything. View all posts by babydot74

Leave a Reply

Sunshine Box

Exploring life through deep thought and introspective connection to reality... most of the time.

Jetpack for WordPress

Your WordPress, Connected.

Storytime with John

Pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Shot of Green

Journey to Healthy Living

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

My French Heaven

Cuisine, Design & Joie de vivre

Costa Rica Travel Blog .com

Costa Rica Travel Blog is the current traveller, will-be traveller, has-been traveller, and should-be traveller's guide to everything costa rica. Information, stories, news, advice - written by the Pura Vida! eh? Incorporated team - costa rican insiders, outsiders, and everywhere-in-between-siders.

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

1001 Scribbles

Random and Abstract Lines

MY FRENCH HEAVEN

Food, Photography & Joie de Vivre

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Hand-Picked Words

A monthly grab bag for book lovers!

The Microscopic World of ME!

My world in randomness ...

tuttacronaca

un occhio a quello che accade

a beautiful day

simple. recipes. healthy. lifestyle

A Lot On Your Plate

A budget friendly blog (now an official website) that gives creative & practical tips, recipes, and more, to help inspire, organize, & simplify your life!

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Maia + Ivor

Life in Pictures

Window Seat Stories

A little box for book lovers -- with a big dream!

